Make It Happen

Film Producing in Wales

Use The Short, Luke

leave a comment »

This is a trailer for a short film that was written and directed by Matt Freeth.

Matt and I have known each other for ten years, having met while we were both studying film at the University of Wales, Aberystwyth. Despite some great staff, the course didn’t really capture my imagination and while Matt went off to direct music videos, I ended up in the exhibitions sector of the film industry, which means I was an usher in a multiplex. I then launched a music business, which I’m sure I’ll mention again in future posts.

This is Matt’s first short film with a decent budget, backed by the UK Film Council’s Digital Shorts scheme. There’s no scheme like this in Wales (though that might change in the near future) and the demise of Sgrin has left It’s My Shout as the only company producing a range of shorts each year. In Wales, the Film Agency’s remit is to support features and not short film, which is intended to increase the range of feature films being developed and produced here, and ultimately foster Welsh talent. While short film is a great way to learn your trade, there’s a very limited market for the film as a product, despite the digital revolution and new channels of internet distribution.

I don’t have a problem with the Film Agency’s position on short film, and as the agency’s work continues, I’m certain its policies and work will have a lasting positive effect on the Welsh film industry. But I’m glad that short film schemes do exist in the UK, and that the talent of a close friend of mine is being nurtured by one. Check out the trailer.

Written by Matthew Redd

November 7, 2008 at 3:22 pm

Leave a Reply

