Make It Happen

Film Producing in Wales

It’s Not What You Know

with 3 comments

On the last day of shooting Avoiding Christian Bale, I was chatting to James, the lead actor while making myself useless on the set. James is from a small town just outside North London, and coincidentally I have a few friends who live in the area, people I met when I was an idealistic and wide-eyed punk rocker. We started talking music, and it emerged that we actually had a lot of mutual friends. Not only that, but James’ brother was the drummer in My Dad Joe, a lightning fast skatepunk band.

When I ran a record label, I released My Dad Joe’s debut album (not altogether successfully for a number of reasons). I’d never met James before and I’m pretty sure his brother had left the band before the album was recorded, but I met him a few times at gigs in London, Cardiff and in other venues around the UK’s toilet circuit. Considering I only released 11 records in total, I thought this was quite a coincidence.

A couple of the guys from My Dad Joe went on to form Gallows after the band split up, and Gallows seem to be pretty popular at the moment. One of them left the new band before it all kicked off for them though. I have a feeling that I was at Gallows’ first ever gig, in a youth centre-type place in Watford. My memory isn’t great though, and so that might not be true.

People, or at least the media, in Wales are very keen on latching onto any minor connection that a celebrity has with the country and then claiming the celebrity as their own. I’m not claiming My Dad Joe, or Gallows, for Wales of course. But well done to this Bangor University graduate for winning some film award.

In other Welsh film news, Matt Freeth has started a blog. Let’s hope he updates it more often than Hooperman.

Written by Matthew Redd

January 13, 2009 at 12:22 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. when and where do we get to see ‘Avoiding Christian Bale’

    anitaandrews

    January 13, 2009 at 3:26 pm

  2. Hi Anita. We don’t have a release date planned as we don’t have a distributor in the UK yet. I’ll update the blog with info as everything develops.

    Matthew Redd

    January 14, 2009 at 4:04 pm

  3. thank you matthew look forwad to seeing it!

    anitaandrews

    January 16, 2009 at 1:30 pm


Leave a Reply

